October 16, 2012

OKC Rowers Head to Boston

Crews from all over the world will flock to the Charles River this weekend for the 48th Head of the Charles Regatta in Boston. The two day event attracts approximately 9000 competitors and 300 000 spectators each year. OKC National High Performance Center will be well represented with several athletes competing in the 3.2 mile long head race that begins at Boston University's DeWolfe Boathouse near the Charles River Basin.

London Olympian, Tom Peszek, will be racing in the Men's Alumni Eights event for the University of Michigan on Saturday morning. The next race will feature OKC's Jen Forbes with the Northeastern University Alumni entry in the Women's Alumnae Eights event at 11:34 AM.

If you're near the banks of the Charles River at 2:49 PM, don't miss our very own Head Coach, Bryan Volpenhein, racing with in the Men's Masters Eights. The Olympic gold medalist and bronze medalist will be racing for Shannon Rowing Club.

In the Championship Men's Single at 4:14 PM, OKC athletes, Ryan Shelton, Will Daly, and Greg Ansolabehere will take on the best in the world including 2012 Olympic gold medalist, Mahe Drysdale.

Kate Bertko will be competing in the Championship Women's single at 4:23 PM. The event will feature Olympic gold medalist, Mirka Knapkova, from the Czech Republic and Olympic Bronze medalist, Kim Crowe, from Australia.

The first event on Sunday morning at 8:00 AM will be the Mixed Adaptive Four. OKC will be represented by Jason Beagle, Andrew Johnson, and Natalie McCarthy, who will be joined by Aerial Gilbert and coxswain, Anthony Chacon.

The crew of Max Goff, Blaise Didier, Peter Dwyer, and Jameson Harper will take on 19 other entries in the Championship Men's Four at 2:30 PM.

Oklahoma City's Ryan Monaghan will be competing in the Men's Championship Eight at 2:55 PM. He will be joined by Thomas DetlefsRobert Munn, Ian Silvera, and 2012 Olympians Mike Gennaro, Steve Kasprzyk, Grant James, Ross James, and coxswain, Zach Vlahos.

In the Lightweight Men's Eight, London Olympians, Robin Prendes, Anthony Fahden, and Will Daly will compete with Greg Flood, Dan Kirrane, Christian Klein, Kyle Traub, Frank Petrucci, and coxswain Katelin Snyder at 4:38 PM.

No comments:

OKC National High Performance Center TV

Search This Blog